‘Getting’ Rajinikanth

First some disclaimers. I haven’t watched every Rajinikanth movie, I did not grow up in Tamil Nadu, I’ve not experienced the intense buzz surrounding a Rajinikanth movie release, I’ve not broken coconuts outside theatres and I don’t know how to whistle. I’ve only heard stories of a crackling electric wave that swirls inside dingy theatres in Madurai and Trichy as Rajinikanth makes his first appearance on screen. I’ve rarely watched a Rajinikanth movie more than once. And I often forget his most famous dialogues.

Yet it pains me to see writer after writer, including one who says he lived in Chennai for 20 years, miss the point completely. Browse through some articles from the past week and you have a half-baked, cliché-ridden smorgasbord. A legend who cannot be understood, a phenom who’s mastered “fist-pumping populism”, a superman who retains a large part of the boy next door …

I can’t help feeling how so many writers just don’t ‘get’ him.

To know the essence of Rajinikanth, strip him to the bone. Take him away from the camera, remove his make-up, hide his fancy clothes, steal his sunglasses, his cigarette, his chewing gum. Then force him to talk in his second, no third, no fourth language. All this when he’s 61.

And see what he’s got. (Watch this video after 1:10. Before that it’s quite traumatic)

Watch the tone, observe the craft of delivery, the exact intonation, the hands pointing at himself strategically – a masterly Wodehousian self deprecation. See the emphasis he puts on certain words, the rustic pronunciation delivered with a naughty punch . Watch those eyes, the quick movements that gauge the audience reaction.

And don’t miss the pauses. Those sensational moments of waiting, where he’s almost toying with us, telling us to laugh a bit more before abruptly jutting in and making us laugh again. Adjusting his modulation accordingly.

Watch how all this comes together in a symphony. All in two minutes. And none of this rehearsed. Watch it again. And again. And realise what a master this man is.

My dad – who grew up in Madras – has a wonderful sense of humour – a typical Tamilian humour that needs an acquired taste. But he cannot tell a joke without laughing out loudly just as he’s uttering the punchline. My maternal uncle is more subtle, yet he often draws out the joke a couple of seconds longer than they should be.

Every Tamilian secretly harbours standing in front of a crowd and being able to entertain. We all pull it off occasionally among friends in college canteens but also know that only the talented ones go further. We also understand how bloody hard it is to make our fellow Tamilians laugh, how we’re just a step away from being out-joked or out-punchlined.

Here Rajinikanth is not even speaking to his core audience (this is in Mumbai – notice the Marathi accent that floats in and out). He looks tired and sweaty. All he has is a microphone.

And yet.

PS: Over my five years of covering cricket, I experienced some of the most breathtaking moments while watching Tendulkar practice in the nets against lesser bowlers. Again, take away the occasion, take away the big bowlers, take away the scorecard and you could see the mastery of his craft. You could observe how particular he was about taking guard, how finicky he got when someone was walking behind the bowler, how he cursed himself for edging, how he held his follow-through, how he replayed his shot if the ball didn’t go where he wanted it to.

I also saw a lot of other players at the nets. But none (barring Dravid occasionally) moved me so much. It took me a while to realise it but genius stays the same irrespective of the context.

And yes, maybe you can’t explain it. But you sure as hell can feel it.

Published by Siddhartha Vaidyanathan

I’m a freelance writer, editor and author. My debut novel - What's Wrong With You, Karthik - was published by Pan Macmillan in India. You can order it here: https://www.amazon.com/Whats-Wrong-with-You-Karthik/dp/9389109507/ I have worked as a reporter and editor for ESPNcricinfo. I was part of the team that launched their digital magazine – The Cricket Monthly. You can read all my articles here. I used to write a fortnightly column for cricketnext.com, I host podcasts and (occasionally) write pieces at 81allout.com. I have contributed articles to Wisden, Nightwatchman, The Hindu, Mumbai Mirror, Indian Express, Forbes.com, AOL, The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph and Yahoo India. I have worked for Bloomberg News and Wall Street Journal as a features reporter.

18 thoughts on “‘Getting’ Rajinikanth

  1. Good piece. As you say, Rajni has to be “experienced”, not examined. As they say in Tamizh, “Aarayakkodadhu, Anubhavikkanum”. Let’s not forget that some of his off-screen activities – philanthropy, his presence at important film events that throng with fans, his status amongst his colleagues – all play a role in his success.

  2. His earlier movies shows what a class actor he is. Even among fans it is tough to convince that he is a great actor, that is strangely disturbing!

  3. I have always been of the view that Tamilians despise all Maharashtrians. Sachin Tendulkar and Rajnikanth being the only exceptions. And you glorify them both in the same blog post! Q.E.D!
    But I like the way you have attempted to remove the aura around him and judge him for what he really is. It is a difficult task, which you accomplished with ease. Good work.

    1. and you forgot one legend..

      lata mangeshkar…!! they all are essence of maharastra.. notthose who want to work(sic) for so called marathi manoos.

  4. Very nice. I’ve read some of the ‘I just don’t get Rajnikanth’ pieces and seen even fewer Rajnikanth films. But the feeling I get is that these writers are trying to evaluate this man & his acting from very Western standards of what constitutes performance. The parameters by which Rajnikanth has been deemed a master by so many can perhaps not be understood if you look at it through a Westernized aesthetic.
    Just a theory though (they won’t let me publish it & collect my doctorate). 🙂

  5. While I agree that he is a really good actor, isn’t this stretching it quite a bit? How many people are amazed by the subtlety of his delivery as opposed to his swashbuckling on-screen persona? How many people come to see Tendulkar at the nets to admire his mastery of the craft? I’m not convinced by the assertion that Rajni’s popularity (the phenomenon, whatever) is not captured by the over-the-top articles, but needs this nuanced view of his off-screen personality. That seems to be the elite critic’s viewpoint rather than the mango fan’s. He chose to go the superstar route, so I don’t think it makes sense to talk about him like he’s a Naseeruddin Shah.

    He is brilliant in the video. Of course it is an edited version, the symphony goes off-key if you watch the full speech where he spends too much time fawning on Amitabh Bachchan. But “none of it rehearsed”, really?

    1. Thanks for the comment. I wasn’t try to say that this video shows ‘exactly’ why Rajini is such a phenomenon. Instead was trying to offer a different perspective. Just used this video because it was recent – it could have well been some other video from some other time.

      Again, you are right about people loving his ‘swashbuckling on-screen persona’ but my point is there’s more to him that that. People come to see Sachin bat against the best out in the middle but to celebrate that alone would be to miss a large part of his craft (and the reasons behind the phenomenon).

      Again, I am assuming you’re @naresha on twitter. I must thank you for actually getting me to write this piece after our mini-discussion there.

      1. We should disagree more often if it gets you to blog every time 🙂

        In any case, I’m a pretty big fan, so we’re probably more in agreement than disagreement on this. For the most part, I was only offering counter-perspective by supporting mainstream reporting.

  6. Very well observed; he has also caught the fancy of the international media: http://www.slate.com/id/2267820/ but I thought the piece in OPEN was written in a sort of get-into-the-psyche of the audience, and very clearly pointed to the fact that he infact takes his audience more seriously than he takes himself; the joke is as much on us, as it is on him 🙂 He seems to be an evolved man.

  7. Largely agree, but more inclined towards Naresha

    Similar, more or less, I had written about Rajnikanth and Tamil Film Industry last week on my blog here here

    cheers

    Sunil

  8. I am probably commenting on a very old post, but can’t resist doing it, because it is about Rajinikant. He is a very underrated actor, and many of his fans love the wrong things about him. For fans of Indian movies, acting is often equated to over-the-top performances.

  9. Beautifully written – It just underlies the fact that Rajini sir is first and foremost a wonderful performer and an actor par excellence. Just that, his movies are NOT motivated by the quest for artistic satisfaction; his movies just make perfect commercial, business sense.

Leave a comment