‘We live the match’

Elif Batuman’s piece in the March 7 issue of the New Yorker is a must-read (it’s behind the paywall but do buy the magazine).

It’s about the soccer fanatics of Istanbul and she focusses on Besiktas, a club who she calls “the underdog, the working-class team, known for the ardor of its fans”.

I had heard and read about soccer fanaticism before but this piece was an eye-opener.  There were stories of stabbings and shootings; of intense poetry, the kind one writes to an unrequited lover; of an underground mafiosi-like Carsi, the fan club; the extraordinary sacrifices that these fans were willing to make; the utmost disgust for Fenerbahce (including an obscenely creative Opera To Fener, which went viral online).

A student tells Batuman: We’re not hooligans. We’re one level above hooliganism.

Batuman is baffled about several aspects of these fans (and you can hear her thoughts in this audio chat). Here’s her observation about the relationship between the rabid fans and the players:

The players jogged into view, the Besiktas team in dazzling black-and-white striped uniforms. Radiating vitality as they shook out their arms and legs, they seemed to be of a different species from their supporters. It seems strange that ether of these groups of people  – the fans and the team – “represented” the other. And which represented which? For whom was all this more real? “The athletes are competing in play,” Umberto Eco writes in an essay about soccer, “but the voyeurs compete seriously (and, in fact, they beat one another or die of heart failure in the grandstands.” I heard a similar view from a Carsi member. “The players only play the match,” he said. “We live the match.”

I won’t try and recreate Batuman’s piece here – even if I do it won’t have even a fraction of the effect her prose does – but I was wondering about the allegiance fans have to a team.

Soccer in Istanbul, like soccer in various other parts, has a strong socio-economic slant: Galatasaray is associated with the elite, Fenerbahce with the biggest budget and illustrious fan-base, and Besiktas, the working-class underdogs.

That’s how I imagine the Bombay Quadrangular (later Pentangular) – a tournament divided across religion and played in front of intensely passionate crowds in pre-partition India. Reading accounts form games in Ramachandra Guha’s Corner of a Foreign Field, I could see the fans ‘living’ the match.

I have also heard of some astonishing stories in the Kolkata football league and the histories of Mohan Bagan, East Bengal and Mohammadan Sporting is incomplete without the sociological undercurrents.

Of course most fans, especially those in the US, have the template set-up: they support teams from their college or teams from their city. It’s a feeling of community, of those packed trains or buses with all the fans wearing similar jerseys, of the camaraderie in a bar, of the joy in the victory parade. One of my friends still remembers the day he walked into college after his team, Ohio State, had won the championship. “It was one massive ocean of scarlet. I’ve never seen anything like it.”

But what of the fan who simply walks into a stadium, reads a book, solves some crosswords, takes in slices of the action and leaves? Is he fan enough? I ask because I’ve spent several days in the Chinnaswamy Stadium, with a domestic match on, doing just that. I remember going back home one day and someone asking me the score. I had no clue. Of course, I knew the drift of the game but I hadn’t kept track of a single score.

I think I was a Karnataka fan, a fan of some players, a fan of domestic cricket, its quaintly intoxicating rhythms, the silence in the stands allowing me to hear the players clearly, the chance to spot a dazzling new talent before most other fans. And the chance, over time, to see that same talent make the transition to the world stage.

What of the fan who is consigned to the life of a tragic? One of my friends is a supporter of West Ham United, a club that has never won the English football league and is unlikely to do so in the near future. I asked him what kept the fire burning?

“We have our own battles to worry about – derbies, mid-table clashes, relegation worries. There’s never a shortage of drama. It’s just not top-of-the-table drama.

“And then obviously there’s that constant hope … that some day, maybe many, many years from now, we’ll actually win a title. And there’s something to be said about that waiting.”

I couldn’t help but think of West Indian cricket fans. There’s a theory that the game in the region has taken a hit because of the drying up of talent in the islands and the slipping standards of the team. That may well be true but in the time I spent there I gathered something more nuanced from the fans I spoke to.

I don’t think West Indian fans were hurt because of the talent not pouring forth. What really hurt them was the lackadaisical attitude of their current players, the lack of heart and soul in their performances. I think the fans were perceptive enough to see the level at which their players were performing and gradually walked away. It’s a crucial difference and a reminder that one can never take such a highly discerning fan for granted.

I want to write a more detailed post on this, including aspects related to fans of individual sports. But before that, I would like your thoughts. What kind of a fan are you? Do write in.

Published by Siddhartha Vaidyanathan

I’m a freelance writer, editor and author. My debut novel - What's Wrong With You, Karthik - was published by Pan Macmillan in India. You can order it here: https://www.amazon.com/Whats-Wrong-with-You-Karthik/dp/9389109507/ I have worked as a reporter and editor for ESPNcricinfo. I was part of the team that launched their digital magazine – The Cricket Monthly. You can read all my articles here. I used to write a fortnightly column for cricketnext.com, I host podcasts and (occasionally) write pieces at 81allout.com. I have contributed articles to Wisden, Nightwatchman, The Hindu, Mumbai Mirror, Indian Express, Forbes.com, AOL, The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph and Yahoo India. I have worked for Bloomberg News and Wall Street Journal as a features reporter.

9 thoughts on “‘We live the match’

  1. Are fans of the ‘team’ for the sake of community/country counted as opposed to fans of the sport? Or, are people like us reviled? 🙂

    My husband is a huge UMich and Gator fan. And of course, the Yankees. Until I married him, I hadn’t met anyone who was that crazy about sports or any team. When the Yankees won the World Series last year, he recorded it and watched it in mute every morning before he left for work and every evening before going to bed. No word said, no fist pumping after some time, just a silent acknowledgement. But I’m not like that. I’m a rabid, swearing fan, if at all, that is.

    I support, watch, yell, cry because India is playing (any sport) and not for the sport itself. Still I’m not able to appreciate the fan-dom that my classmates or my husband exhibit over their alma mater. I wonder why, sometimes.

    1. Sure. I was referring to all fans. When I support the Indian cricket team, I’m not sure who I’m supporting – the country, the team or the individual players. And I so relate to fans like your husband, who don’t necessarily wear their support on their sleeves but are always there to silently acknowledge the fact.

  2. I am not and have never been a die hard sports fan. But in moments, in certain company and in the codas of world cups, I have fully experienced the physiological effects of losing one’s mind to sports. I completely empathize with the tears of a loss and the hysterics of a winning underdog.

    What prevents me from immersing myself too much into following sports is:

    1. The inclination to believe that anything that involves amassing vast quantities of exclusive trivia is, in the big picture, insignificant. (Which is something I know is presumptuous and arrogant.)

    2. The feeling that simply watching people play a sport is, in some way, indolent.

    But what makes me wish I was a die hard sports fan is:

    1. The feeling accompanying a crucial match. The primal nature of this fanaticism towards the artificial construct of a team.

    2. The camaraderie. The joyousness of a well-earned celebration. The crestfallen walk away from a poor result.

    For now, I am managing to enter and exit this world at will, choosing to pay attention when it is convenient. But I still feel like I am cheating the system. Sometimes I wish I knew more about the sport, could rattle off statistics where they mattered and engage in heated debate about the finer aspects. I cannot. And perhaps this tempers the experience.

    Still, there is a fan in everyone of us, even if it rears its head once in a blue moon, knowing nothing but what is happening in that one moment. A fan, perhaps, needs no history but his own.

    1. Thanks for this, Unnamed. This is a wonderful point of view. I guess there’s a general misconception about a fan needing to be obsessed with a sport/team but your experience, like others I know, suggest otherwise. To ‘enter and exit’ the world of fandom at will is surely a luxury you’re blessed with 🙂

  3. My fandom is like that of Unnamed, or so I think. I grew up in a household sans TV in Thanjavur, in a family that showed least interest in sports. When a relative got a TV in the late eighties, I got to watching sports. Cricket and Tennis were the sports I followed (before cable television these were covered the most on national TV).

    Subsequently, I became a fan of Boris Becker. I remember the games he played, the 1988 photograph of Becker and Steffi Graf with their Wimbledon trophies, the 1989 finals where a calm Stefan Edberg defeated the constantly cursing Becker, and his 1995 defeat to Sampras, all the while admiring his characteristic quirks.

    As far as cricket goes, I have been a great admirer of the trio from Karnataka (Kumble, Srinath, and Dravid) and Sachin, but I do not consider myself a fan of them or the Indian cricket team.

    In the process of watching games on TV and reading about them on newspapers, I became a fan of sports writing. It sounds strange to me when I write this, but that is what I am. I remember R. Mohan, Nirmal Shekar, R. Brijnath, and from the internet Prem Panicker, Ramachandra Guha, and many more writers. I have learned to love sports through these articles. And the moment I completed reading “Degrees of fandom”, I decided I will reply to your post 🙂 That was an amazing piece that says more about the fan, even though one can get deceived that the post was about Dravid or his 95 runs on debut.

    1. Thanks for this Skanda. It’s amazing what a good sports writer can do to a fan – I think many fans’ love for their team/game is enhanced tremendously after reading a stirring piece/book. Totally relate to your point about loving sports through articles.

  4. I am sort of the obsessed with winning kind of sports fan , apart from the Indian teams in various sports I am a huge fan of Manchester United , it all started with Manchester United because of the beautiful football but now it’s reached the stage for me where winning is everything , this season for example we have been rubbish but we are still top and I am happy , I am also one of those who wants to be in a group to celebrate success and as time has passed I have actually developed a hatred for rival fans. You can just say that I am now an obsessed with winning kind of fan , I sort of want to get out of this mentality but have found it impossible.

  5. Your article got me thinking. And I reached the conclusion that I cannot decide for sure that which kind of a fan I am.
    When I was a kid , I was a sort of fanatic fan of Indian cricket team because that was what my elder brothers and a lot of people in my extended family were. Somewhere within that fanaticism was hidden a deep contempt for teams like Australia and Pakistan because India used to lose often to Australia and Pakistan was well, Pakistan. As I grew up, I started following sports more and “fanatic fandom” a bit less. And then the artistry of Waqar and Wasim, silkiness of Saeed Anwar and that often ignored genius Saqlain started to figure more in my imagination. At that time I started to come to the point where I would start choosing Wasim over Venkatesh Prasad any day though only a couple of years back on a certain evening of 1996 Prasad felt the 10th incarnation of Lord Vishnu on earth to me. Around the very same time there was emergence of VVS which made me look beyond SRT. And I started to get the feeling that I am the sort of fan who is in awe of people who do things the silky way . Those super humans who can make those thing look easier which are otherwise terribly difficult to do .( I sometimes wonder how different a fan you can turn out to be if you have played the game with any degree of seriousness involved. It can make you far less likely to smash the window panes of our cricketers in case they fail. Because you know that what they are doing is a very difficult thing to do with a high degree of failure involved. ) But then I fell in love with Australian team as well for the high level of grit, confidence and that “never -say-die ” attitude they displayed , none of which were superhuman qualities but very much the characteristics even a mere mortal like me can acquire. Though my favorite Australian player remained Damien Matyn, I started to admire Steve Waugh hugely as well for his mentality and attitude. I got me further confused about the category of fan I belong to. And to make matters worse, a few years later Roger Federer absolutely blew me away with his grace, fluidity and economy of movement . And to take matters even downhill, a few years hence there was the emergence of Nadal , whom I loved, and who can be easily termed the perfect antithesis of the term “economy of movement”. And to add to that, I have started enjoying the brand of football Barcelona play- the beautiful football- immensely in the recent years. I have now given up judging about the kind of sport fan that lives inside me. But this post got me reminiscing . Ah, well there is a fan inside for sure. May be you can help judging about the kind.

  6. I am the kind who gets really worked up when India play any sport. The other day I watched Rohan Bopanna play the Davis Cup and I couldn’t change the channel. Here was a rank outsider who had hardly played any singles take a top 20 player into five sets in his own backyard.

    There was a very good article ( I think by Jayditya Gupta) during the first IPL where he talked about his experience of trying get behind KKR but could never address the team as “we” ( the way we address Indian cricket team for example. How much did we score? Whats our score.) We never address the teams that we truly love in the third person. It becomes our team. And I think that, that should be the test to judge how passionate the person is about his/her team. No matter how much I can’t stand the current crop of Indian cricketers, I still want this team to do well. It is my team after all. In the past, as a seven year old, I have pulled my mother’s hair out when we lost games of cricket. Even today, though my mother doesn’t have too much hair left, if she did, she better watch out. Not that I am proud of it, but I am that kind of fan. Swearing, uncouth and generally a pain to watch or play a game of cricket with.

Leave a comment